Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Temple University · College of Education and Human Development

Master of Science in Education in Career and Technical Education

Master'sMSEdMaster of Science in Education in Career and Technical Education

Overview

A 30-credit online MSEd in Career and Technical Education for certified career and technical educators, ending in a leadership internship capstone at a career and technology center; it includes Pennsylvania supervisor and director certificate coursework.

Official program name
Master of Science in Education in Career and Technical Education
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Education in Career and Technical Education
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Temple University — College of Education and Human Development
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Philadelphia, PAWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30 credits (10 courses) plus a capstone
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree completed entirely online, with a capstone internship at a career and technology center.

Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Internship Required

    Capstone internship in leadership at a career and technology center

    Career and technology center

    Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Career and Technical Education Supervisor Certificate after 15 credits; Director Certificate after the remaining 15 credits
    Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredInstructional I or II, or Career and Technical (Vocational) Instructional I or II teacher certification
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
RequiredThree years of relevant professional experience in a career and technical education school
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
Required500- to 1,000-word statement of purpose
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of reference
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent professional résumé
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — $60 application fee
Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    March 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    November 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Temple University participates in SARA (NC-SARA) and may engage in SARA-covered activities in member states. Official pageSource: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Not verified — check the university's disclosure for your state.

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • Temple does not currently offer online programs to individuals located in Iran, Sudan, Crimea, Cuba, Syria, North Korea or Venezuela, and does not guarantee recognition of its online degrees in other countries.Source: temple.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. bulletin.temple.edu/graduate/scd/education/career-technical-education-msed/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  2. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. temple.edu/academics/degree-programs/career-technical-education-msed-ed-cte-msed — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. temple.edu/academics/degree-programs/career-technical-education-msed-ed-cte-msed/admissions-informat — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. temple.edu/online/legal-notices/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Temple University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.