
Sacred Heart University · School of Social Work
Master of Social Work (MSW)
Overview
A CSWE-accredited MSW from Sacred Heart University's School of Social Work offered online with low residency (60 credits, or 30 for advanced standing), including four semesters of field education.
- Official program name
- Master of Social Work (MSW)
- Awarded degree
- Master of Social WorkSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- University
- Sacred Heart University — School of Social WorkSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Administering location
- Fairfield, CTWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Required credits
- 60 credits (30 for advanced standing)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Duration
- 1-3 years; online accelerated option in 16 months (accelerated: three courses at a time in eight-week modules)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Start terms
- Spring, Late Spring, FallSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed
CSWE-accredited MSW offered online with low residency (traditional, advanced standing and accelerated online formats) with required field education.
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Coursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits requiredSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Practical placement
- Practical placement requiredSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
In-person and practical requirements as published
Fieldwork Required
Field education: 1,000 hours (60-credit track) or 500 hours (advanced standing), four semesters at 16-24 hours per week
16-24 hours per week
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026Residency Required
Low residency (frequency and length not stated)
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited institution (BSW within six years for advanced standing)Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 3 — Overall cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higherSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Credit for prior learning
- Not requiredNo academic credit for life or work experienceSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredAdmission essay on five topicsSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendationSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Résumé / CV
- RequiredResumeSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tests
- GRE General Test
- Not requiredSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Upcoming
Application deadline
November 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027 (online accelerated)
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Rolling
Application deadline
Rolling admission · for Spring 2027 (online traditional and advanced standing)
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All online students | $840 | per creditEstimated tuition$50,400 = 60 credits × $840 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Scholarships and financial aid
Military benefits / Yellow Ribbon Tuition discount
Eligibility: Veterans and active-duty U.S. military members
How to apply: Certificate of Eligibility (COE) and DD214 required
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
- Council on Social Work Education — Accredited by the Council on Social Work EducationSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
State authorization
- As an NC-SARA member, Sacred Heart University is authorized to offer distance programs in all SARA-participating states and U.S. territories. Official pageSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional licensure
- SHU has determined the curriculum meets state education requirements for all states, with state-specific notes (e.g., California, Florida, New Mexico). State-by-state disclosureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Prospective students are also encouraged to review Sacred Heart University’s Disclosures & Student Complaint Process for additional information. State-by-state disclosureSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.
International applicants
Not verified for this online program.
Sources and verification
- onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
- DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- sacredheart.edu/about-shu/consumer-information/state-authorization-disclosures--student-complaints/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
- sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/social-work---msw/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/social-work---msw/admission-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
- sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/social-work---msw/social-work-licensure--disclosure-information/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Sacred Heart University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.