Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (online)

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Overview

A 60-credit online MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling at Sacred Heart University, accredited by CACREP, with two one-week residencies in Connecticut and supervised practicum and internship experiences.

Official program name
Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (online)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Fairfield, CTWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
2-3 years (two years full-time) (full-time for two years)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online CACREP-accredited MA with two one-week in-person residencies in Connecticut and supervised internships.

Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Coursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits required
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Cumulative GPA of 2.75 or higher
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredResponses to personal statement questions
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two professional letters of recommendation
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
RequiredVideo conference interview
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
RequiredNon-refundable application fee (amount not stated)
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredState-specific acknowledgement form completed with a counseling faculty member; online-readiness assessment
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Miller Analogies Test
Not required
Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$900per creditEstimated tuition$54,000 = 60 credits × $900 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs — Accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational ProgramsSource: onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • As an NC-SARA member, Sacred Heart University is authorized to offer distance programs in all SARA-participating states and U.S. territories. Official pageSource: sacredheart.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/programs/masters-clinical-mental-health-counseling/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. onlineprograms.sacredheart.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. sacredheart.edu/about-shu/consumer-information/state-authorization-disclosures--student-complaints/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. sacredheart.edu/majors--programs/social-work---msw/social-work-licensure--disclosure-information/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of South Dakota logo

University of South Dakota

Addiction Counseling & Prevention (M.A.)

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Addiction Counseling and Prevention
Subject: Addiction Counseling
Administering location: Vermillion, SDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $495.70 per credit · All online students — Graduate online tuition (per credit)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Michigan State University logo

Michigan State University

Clinical Mental Health Counseling, MA

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Subject: Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Administering location: East Lansing, MIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 2-3 years of full-time study (full-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $933 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Montana State University Billings logo

Montana State University Billings

Master of Science Clinical Rehabilitation and Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Clinical Rehabilitation and Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Subject: Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Administering location: Billings, MTUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required; practical placement required
Duration: average 8-9 semesters (3 years) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $302.15 per credit · In-state — Graduate online only, resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Sacred Heart University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.