Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Fort Hays State University

Master of Science in Nursing (Nursing Education)

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing

Overview

A 36-credit online MSN with a nursing education focus for registered nurses, including 135 preceptor-led practicum hours and a comprehensive written examination in the final semester. It is CCNE-accredited.

Official program name
Master of Science in Nursing (Nursing Education)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Nursing
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Hays, KSWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Nursing Education
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
36 credit hours
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online 36-credit MSN with 135 preceptor-led practicum hours.

Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Practicum Required

    135 preceptor-led practicum hours (NURS 867 and NURS 869); if no local site can be arranged, students are assigned a site in Hays, Kansas.

    Fall and spring semesters · Local site; Hays, Kansas if no local contract is possible

    Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Proctored exams Required

    Comprehensive written examination in the final semester (proctoring arrangements not stated).

    Final semester

    Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • 16-week courses in fall and spring; 8-week courses in summer.
    Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBSN from a CCNE or NLNAC accredited program
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredCurrent, active RN license
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale (BSN or last 60 credit hours)
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement of up to 500 words
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Background check
RequiredClinical clearance: liability insurance, background check, drug testing, immunizations
Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — FHSU Online graduateFrom the university's online tuition table$362.73per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$13,058.28 = 36 credits × $362.73 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • The Department of Nursing does not accept MSN applications from Mississippi, Utah or the District of Columbia. Official pageSource: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Fort Hays State University was approved to join NC-SARA on April 3, 2015, and offers online course work throughout the United States as a participating institution. Official pageSource: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • The program does not meet the requirements for international students who require on-campus courses.Source: fhsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. fhsu.edu/online/admissions/tuition/index — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. fhsu.edu/online/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. fhsu.edu/programs/nursing-education — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 7 semesters, beginning with a fall admission · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Cincinnati

MSN Family Nurse Practitioner

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required; practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $752 per credit · All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hour
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Hawaii Pacific University logo

Hawaii Pacific University

Online MSN-FNP Program

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Honolulu, HIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: As few as 24 months (Minimum completion time) · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,156 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: December 18, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Fort Hays State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.