Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Empire State University

Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Change

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Change

Overview

A 54-credit cohort-based EdD for higher education professionals, with online asynchronous coursework, four retreats (one virtual, three in person in Saratoga Springs) and an applied dissertation; it is designed to be completed in four years. Admission requires a master's degree with a 3.0 GPA, letters of recommendation, writing samples and a faculty interview.

Official program name
Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Change
Awarded degree
Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Change
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Administering location
Saratoga Springs, NYWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
54 credits
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
designed to be completed in four years
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online professional doctorate with required retreats, three of them in person in Saratoga Springs.

Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Coursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits required
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Three in-person retreats in Saratoga Springs (May/June at the end of years one, two and three)

    Once a year at the end of years one, two and three · Saratoga Springs, NY

    Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Orientation Required

    First retreat held virtually in early September

    Virtual

    Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Applied dissertation implementing an intervention or action plan; a three-article dissertation is an option
    Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or above at the master's level
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredGraduate coursework in History and Philosophy of Higher Education and Economics and/or Finance of Higher Education (may be completed within the first year)
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transfer credit
OptionalMaximum of 6 transfer credits (7000+ level, grade B or better, no more than 6 years old)
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — 2 letters of recommendation
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview with faculty representatives of the program
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredWriting samples describing goals for the program and intended dissertation
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Miller Analogies Test
Not required
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    February 1 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    March 1 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Rate printed on the program page (residency category not stated)$471per creditEstimated tuition$25,434 = 54 credits × $471 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Residency fees (variable, residency-based courses only; lodging and meals not included)
Amount not statedMandatory
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Technology fee
$194 per termMandatory
Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • SUNY Empire is a member of NC-SARA and is authorized to offer its online degree programs to residents of all other NC-SARA participating states. Official pageSource: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • International students may apply to and enroll in 100% online degree or certificate programs from abroad; the university cannot issue I-20s for F-1 visas.Source: sunyempire.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. sunyempire.edu/about/online-education-compliance/authorizations.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. sunyempire.edu/about/online-education-compliance/licensure/index.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. sunyempire.edu/academics/graduate-academics/doctorate/educational-leadership-change.html — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. sunyempire.edu/admissions-and-aid/graduate-admissions/graduate-admissions-requirements.html — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. sunyempire.edu/admissions-and-aid/tuition-and-fees/graduate-tuition-and-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  7. sunyempire.edu/admissions-and-aid/tuition-and-fees/undergraduate-tuition-and-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Dakota

Educational Practice & Leadership (Ed.D.)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Practice and Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration · Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Grand Forks, NDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: typically three years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington

Instructional Systems Technology, Ed.D.

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Instructional Systems Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Bloomington, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $541.18 per credit · In-state — Indiana resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Colorado Denver

Doctor of Education (EdD) in Leadership for Educational Equity

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership for Educational Equity
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: 3 years (cohort-based) · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Summer 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Empire State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.