Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

American Public University System · School of Arts, Humanities & Education

Master of Education in Educational Leadership (M.Ed.)

Master'sMEdMaster of Education in Educational Leadership

Overview

A 36-credit online M.Ed. in Educational Leadership with an 18-semester-hour concentration. Applicants need one year of K-12 teaching or managerial experience; the program does not lead to certification or licensure.

Official program name
Master of Education in Educational Leadership (M.Ed.)
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Educational Leadership
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
American Public University System — School of Arts, Humanities & Education
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Charles Town, WVWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
K-12 Athletic Administration
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
36 credits; transfer up to 15 credits
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online M.Ed.; the page states it does not lead to certification or licensure.

Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree or higher from a CHEA-recognized accredited institution.
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
RequiredOne year of K-12 teaching or K-12 managerial experience in an instructional setting.
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredSigned statement of understanding (SOU).
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Standard master's rate$470per creditEstimated tuition$16,920 = 36 credits × $470 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Technology fee per master's-level course
$85 per courseMandatory
Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide
  • Preferred Military Rate Tuition discount

    $250 per credit hour (undergraduate and master's-level courses)

    Eligibility: U.S. active-duty servicemembers, National Guard members, Reservists, and military families

    How to apply: Applied automatically

    Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Veteran Grant Tuition discount

    10% (undergraduate) / 15% (master's-level) off standard tuition

    Eligibility: Veterans and family members

    Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Opportunity Grant Tuition discount

    10% off undergraduate or master's-level tuition

    Eligibility: Prospective and current APU students

    How to apply: Applied automatically

    Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Everyday Heroes Grant Tuition discount

    20% grant

    Eligibility: First responders (law enforcement, firefighters, EMS) and their family members

    Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • The System is authorized by the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission and other appropriate agencies in the states where it has campuses. Official pageSource: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • International applicants are accepted; because study is online, APU does not issue I-20 or DS-2019 forms for F-1 or J-1 visas.Source: apu.apus.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. apu.apus.edu/aboutus/consumer-information/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. apu.apus.edu/online-masters-programs/master-of-arts-in-psychology/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. apu.apus.edu/online-masters-programs/master-of-education-in-educational-leadership/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. apu.apus.edu/tuition-and-financing/tuition-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with American Public University System. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.