Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Virginia Commonwealth University · VCU School of Education

M.Ed. in Special Education, Early Childhood concentration

Master'sMEdMaster of Education in Special Education

Overview

A 37-credit online M.Ed. in Special Education with an early childhood concentration (birth to age 5), offering a licensure option that meets Virginia initial teacher licensure and early intervention certification requirements. The curriculum includes site-based internship and externship courses; average completion is four semesters full-time or six part-time.

Official program name
M.Ed. in Special Education, Early Childhood concentration
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Special Education
Source: online.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: online.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Richmond, VAWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Early Childhood
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
minimum 37 credit hours
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
average 4 semesters full-time; 6 semesters part-time
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online M.Ed. listed as 100% online, with site-based internship and externship courses.

Source: online.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Internship Required

    ECSE 672 Internship in Early Development and Intervention (site-based requirements); licensure option also includes ECSE 700 Externship

    Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of intent
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
OptionalInterview at the discretion of the program
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Background check
RequiredBackground check and fingerprinting for clinical experiences in schools
Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    March 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: soe.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • VCU participates in NC-SARA, which allows students from NC-SARA-approved states to enroll in VCU's programs; state regulations determine whether VCU may offer a place to students located outside Virginia. Official pageSource: onlinesocialwork.vcu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. academics.provost.vcu.edu/assessment-accreditation-and-compliance/compliance/professional-licensure- — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.vcu.edu/online/programs/med-special-education/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. onlinesocialwork.vcu.edu/academics/licensure/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. soe.vcu.edu/academics/special-education/special-education-early-childhood--med/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Virginia Commonwealth University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.