Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Utah State University · Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, College of Education & Human Services

Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, MA/MEd

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Instructional Technology and Learning Sciences

Overview

A 37-credit online master's in instructional design covering design, learning theory, project management and design thinking. No thesis is required; the program culminates in an internship or a creative project.

Official program name
Instructional Technology & Learning Sciences, MA/MEd
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Instructional Technology and Learning Sciences
Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Logan, UTWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
37 credits
Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

USU Online lists the ITLS MA/MEd as a 100% online master's degree.

Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Optional practical placement
Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Internship Optional

    Internship or creative project as the culminating experience

    Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Thesis

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in any field
Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Online special program rateFrom the university's online tuition table$490per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$18,130 = 37 credits × $490 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide
  • Adult Learner Grant Grant

    Eligibility: Independent Utah residents (or students qualifying for resident tuition) with financial need, enrolled only in online courses in an eligible online program.

    How to apply: Complete a FAFSA.

    Source: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Utah participates in SARA and USU is an approved SARA institution; all USU online programs are authorized in all states, with possible restrictions on internships and practicums in certain non-SARA states. Official pageSource: usu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. usu.edu/online/adult-learner-grant — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. usu.edu/online/degrees/masters/instructional-technology-and-learning-sciences — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. usu.edu/online/special-rates — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. usu.edu/online/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Utah State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.