Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
University of West Georgia logo

University of West Georgia · Tanner Health School of Nursing

Doctor of Education with a Major in Nursing Education

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education with a Major in Nursing Education

Overview

A 60-credit online, asynchronous EdD in nursing education with a required two-day virtual orientation seminar and a one-day dissertation orientation. Applicants need an MSN, a 3.0 graduate nursing GPA and a current US RN license; admission is for fall only.

Official program name
Doctor of Education with a Major in Nursing Education
Awarded degree
Doctor of Education with a Major in Nursing Education
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Carrollton, GAWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
Total semester hours required: 60
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online EdD for nurse educators.

Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Orientation Required

    Two-day virtual orientation seminar before the first semester.

    once · virtual

    Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Orientation Required

    One-day mandatory dissertation orientation the semester before comprehensive exams; format not stated.

    once

    Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMSN from an accredited program.
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredCurrent unencumbered US RN license.
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale for all graduate nursing courses.
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredProfessional resume.
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$55 — $55 graduate application fee.
Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Ed.DNSGEDU online rate (Graduate NET) tuition; program differential and Etuition charges also applyFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$249per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$14,940 = 60 credits × $249 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • UWG is a member of NC-SARA; non-residents and international students must check with UWG that it may enroll residents of their state or country. Official pageSource: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • International students (online or not) must check with UWG to confirm it is allowed to enroll residents of their country.Source: westga.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. westga.edu/assets/studentaccounts/fy2027_osabs/professional_msn_eddnsgedu.pdf — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. westga.edu/consumer-information/state-professional-licensure.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. westga.edu/uwgonline/program_details.php?program_id=190 — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: eight semesters of full-time study (full-time study) · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Troy University

Doctor of Nursing Practice (Post Masters)

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Troy, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 35 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $550 per credit · All online students — TROY Online doctoral tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: East Lansing, MIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3 years minimum duration · 70 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $934.25 per credit · In-state
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of West Georgia. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.