Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of South Carolina

Learning Design and Technologies, M.Ed.

Master'sMEdMaster of Education in Learning Design and Technologies

Overview

A 30-hour, 100% online Master of Education in Learning Design and Technologies that typically takes two years, with mostly 8-week courses taken two per semester including summer. Teaching licensure and a prior education degree are not required, and out-of-state students pay the South Carolina resident rate.

Official program name
Learning Design and Technologies, M.Ed.
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Learning Design and Technologies
Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Columbia, SCWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30 hours
Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
typically two years
Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

100% online master's degree; teaching licensure not required.

Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • Most courses run on an 8-week schedule, two courses each semester including summer; faculty-led, not self-paced
    Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Professional license
Not requiredNeither teaching licensure nor a previous degree in education is required
Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 1 · for Spring 2027 (start January 11, 2027)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    March 15 · for Summer 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    June 15 · for Fall 2027 (start August 17, 2027)

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — All other applicants (out-of-state students pay the SC resident rate)$572.25per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$17,167.50 = 30 credits × $572.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
South Carolina resident certified teachers taking fewer than 12 hours per semester$515per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$15,450 = 30 credits × $515 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
All online students — Estimated total program tuition including fees (all other applicants)$20,763entire program · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • USC Columbia participates in NC-SARA and is authorized to enroll students in distance education and experiential learning coursework in NC-SARA member states; the authorization table lists the Northern Mariana Islands as not allowed. Official pageSource: sc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of South Carolina. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.