
Nursing, R.N. to B.S. Degree Completion
Overview
Fully online RN to BS degree completion program for nurses with an associate degree or diploma from an ACEN-accredited program and an RN license. Graduation requires 120 total credits, including a community/public health nursing practicum course; the program admits residents of Rhode Island, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey and New York and does not lead to licensure.
- Official program name
- Nursing, R.N. to B.S. Degree Completion
- Awarded degree
- Bachelor of Science in NursingSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Bachelor's
- University
- Administering location
- Kingston, RIWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Required credits
- 120 total creditsSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
- Start terms
- Spring, Summer, FallSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Entry pathway
Credential-specific pathway. Requires a specific credential, such as an RN license for an RN-to-BSN.
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026- Professional license
- RequiredCurrent, unrestricted U.S. RN compact or state-of-residence licenseSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Why this program is listed
Fully online RN to BS degree completion program; admits residents of RI, CT, MA, NJ and NY only.
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits: not verified
- Practical placement
- Practical placement requiredSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
In-person and practical requirements as published
Practicum Required
NUR 442 Community/Public Health Nursing Practicum (required course; location not stated)
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredAssociate degree or diploma in Nursing from an ACEN-accredited programSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 2.6 — 2.6 minimum cumulative GPA on a 4.0 scaleSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Transcripts
- RequiredOfficial transcripts from all institutions attendedSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Other requirement
- RequiredOnly US citizens or permanent residents from RI, CT, MA, NJ and NY are currently admitted.Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Year not printed
Application deadline
24-Nov-26 · for Spring 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Year not printed
Application deadline
30-Mar-27 · for Summer 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Year not printed
Application deadline
4-Aug-27 · for Fall 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All online students | $631 | per credit · 2025-2026Estimated tuition$75,720 = 120 credits × $631 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Scholarships and financial aid
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.
State authorization
- Only residents of (or those intending to practice in) RI, CT, MA, NJ and NY are accepted. Official pageSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- URI is approved to participate in NC-SARA and can admit residents of all states, DC, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands to online programs; some programs accept only residents of listed states. Official pageSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional licensure
- The RN to BS program is a bachelor's degree program and does not lead to professional licensure. State-by-state disclosureSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- The RN-BS program does not lead to professional licensure. State-by-state disclosureSource: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.
International applicants
- URI is currently only accepting applications for online programs from international residents of Australia.Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Sources and verification
- DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- web.uri.edu/data-science/academics/ms-data-science/admission-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
- web.uri.edu/online/programs/undergraduate/nursing-rn-to-bs/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- web.uri.edu/online/student-resources/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Nursing (RN to BSN)
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Rhode Island. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.