Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of Delaware · School of Education, College of Education and Human Development

Master of Education in Literacy, M.Ed.

Master'sMEdMaster of Education in Literacy

Overview

A 30-credit online Master of Education in Literacy for practicing teachers, with ten seven-week courses usually completed part-time over two years. Students apply coursework with K-12 students in an educational setting they identify, documented by video.

Official program name
Master of Education in Literacy, M.Ed.
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Literacy
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Newark, DEWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30 credits of graduate-level coursework
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
2 Years Duration (part-time)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Summer, Fall, Spring
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online MEd with required field-based tutoring and K-12 application work in the student's own setting.

Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Practicum Required

    Supervised Reading Clinic courses require regularly tutoring a child; students identify the educational setting, obtain consent and submit video.

    Educational setting identified by the student

    Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Other

  • A passing score of at least 165 on the Praxis II Reading Specialist exam (#5302) is required before exit.
    Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • No new spring admissions in odd-numbered years.
    Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
RecommendedPreference for applicants with initial teaching certification and classroom experience; three years of teaching experience needed by the time of Reading/Literacy Specialist certification.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredThree written 500-word essays.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 100Applicants whose primary language is not English; internet-based TOEFL.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
IELTS Academic
Optional — minimum 7Alternative to TOEFL for applicants whose primary language is not English.
Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    May 1 · for Summer 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    August 1 · for Fall I 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$908per creditEstimated tuition$27,240 = 30 credits × $908 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • UD is an approved SARA member institution (effective Feb. 21, 2017) and can offer distance education to residents of other SARA member states; students in California should contact the distance learning compliance office. Official pageSource: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

  • Students teaching outside Delaware must verify with their state licensing board whether the program meets Reading/Literacy Specialist certification requirements. State-by-state disclosureSource: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • the University of Delaware provides public and direct professional licensure and certification disclosure statements State-by-state disclosureSource: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • International applicants must submit TOEFL or equivalent English proficiency scores.Source: udel.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. udel.edu/academics/online/consumer-information-and-compliance/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. udel.edu/academics/online/programs/med-masters-literacy/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. udel.edu/academics/online/tuition/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Delaware. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.