Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University · Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture

Online Ed.D. in Curriculum and Instruction

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Curriculum and Instruction

Overview

A 64-credit, cohort-based online Doctor of Education in Curriculum and Instruction for experienced PK-12 educators. The program includes internships and a Record of Study in place of a traditional dissertation, with an estimated completion time of four years.

Official program name
Online Ed.D. in Curriculum and Instruction
Awarded degree
Doctor of Education in Curriculum and Instruction
Source: tlac.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Source: tlac.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
College Station, TXWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
minimum of 64 semester credit hours beyond the master's degree
Source: tlac.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
four years
Source: tlac.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Cohort-based Ed.D. delivered online; includes internships and a Record of Study.

Source: tlac.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Internship Required

    Internships are part of the online doctorate; location is not stated.

    Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

Other

  • Not self-paced; semester course loads are pre-determined by the cohort system.
    Source: tlac.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Work experience
RequiredFive years of PK-12 teaching experience.
Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation.
Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredTwo writing samples on education topics.
Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial bachelor's and master's degree transcripts.
Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Required
Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    August · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.tamu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. online.tamu.edu/degrees-and-certificates/edhd-curriculum-and-instruction-edd.html — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.tamu.edu/state-authorization.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. tlac.tamu.edu/academics/online-ed-d/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Dakota

Educational Practice & Leadership (Ed.D.)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Practice and Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration · Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Grand Forks, NDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: typically three years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington

Instructional Systems Technology, Ed.D.

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Instructional Systems Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Bloomington, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $541.18 per credit · In-state — Indiana resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Colorado Denver

Doctor of Education (EdD) in Leadership for Educational Equity

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership for Educational Equity
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: 3 years (cohort-based) · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Summer 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Texas A&M University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.