Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Rutgers University–New Brunswick logo

Rutgers University–New Brunswick · School of Engineering, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Online Master of Engineering in Industrial and Systems Engineering (MEng in ISE)

Master'sMEngMaster of Engineering in Industrial and Systems Engineering

Overview

A 30-credit online Master of Engineering in Industrial and Systems Engineering from the School of Engineering, with a general path or specializations in data analytics or engineering management. Applicants need four semesters of calculus; an optional internship for credit is available.

Official program name
Online Master of Engineering in Industrial and Systems Engineering (MEng in ISE)
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering in Industrial and Systems Engineering
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
New Brunswick, NJWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Data analytics in industrial engineering · Engineering management
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
30 credits
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
typically 1.5 years (depends on the number of credits taken per term)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online 30-credit MEng from the School of Engineering, Rutgers University-New Brunswick, completed asynchronously.

Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Optional practical placement
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

Curriculum

Curriculum

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate degree; all majors welcome
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum undergraduate GPA 3.0; lower GPAs may still be considered
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredFour semesters of calculus
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transfer credit
OptionalUp to 9 graduate credits may transfer
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement of 1-2 pages
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$70 — $70 application fee
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RecommendedNot required, but recommended.
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants only; TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo; waiver possible for graduates of English-speaking or U.S. schools.
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$1,047per creditEstimated tuition$31,410 = 30 credits × $1,047 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026
All online students — Total tuition$31,410entire programSource: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Student, school, matriculation and technology fees (vary by status and credits)
Amount not stated per semesterMandatory
Source: engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Rutgers Online publishes the NC-SARA student complaint process and state portal agencies for online students residing outside New Jersey. Official pageSource: online.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • International students may apply to online programs only if they are not seeking a U.S. visa for entry into the country.Source: online.rutgers.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu/about/faq/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu/admission/ — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu/admission/tuition-financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. engineeringmastersonline.rutgers.edu/meng-in-industrial-and-systems-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. online.rutgers.edu/nc-sara-student-complaints-process — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Engineering Education (online M.S.)

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Engineering Education
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction · Engineering Technology
Administering location: Raleigh, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits; practical placement required
Duration: within six years of the first course in the Plan of Graduate Work (Maximum time limit for completing all degree requirements) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $585.39 per credit · In-state — Graduate Engineering Online, Engineering Education, residents of North Carolina · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Northern Iowa

Applied Engineering: Engineering Management (MS)

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Applied Engineering
Subject: Engineering Management
Administering location: Cedar Falls, IAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $604 per credit · All online students — Graduate Online Programs · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Master'sMSECEMaster of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering
Subject: Electrical & Computer Engineering
Administering location: Minneapolis, MNUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: Duration not verified · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,733.50 per credit · All online students — Graduate tuition per credit, plus University and Collegiate fees
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Rutgers University–New Brunswick. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.