Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Regis University logo

Regis University

M.Ed. Special Education

Master'sMEdMaster of Education in Special Education

Overview

A 45-credit initial-licensure Master of Education in Special Education with online courses in 8-week terms. Field hours and student teaching must be completed in Colorado, leading to a recommendation for Colorado licensure; tuition for 2026-2027 is $679 per credit hour.

Official program name
M.Ed. Special Education
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Special Education
Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Denver, COWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
45 total program credits
Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
24-36 months
Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
January, May, August
Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Initial-licensure M.Ed. with online courses; field hours and student teaching are completed in Colorado schools.

Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Fieldwork Required

    200 field hours completed alongside coursework

    Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Student teaching Required

    Student teaching at an accredited institution in Colorado, requiring full-time enrollment and a passed Praxis exam

    Colorado

    Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview
Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$679per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$30,555 = 45 credits × $679 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide
  • Paraprofessional / school employee discount Tuition discount

    10% tuition discount

    Eligibility: Paraprofessionals or those with contracted positions within a school

    Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Regis University has been an institutional SARA participant since 2015 and states it is authorized to offer out-of-state educational activities in all 50 states, with program-specific exceptions for nursing. Official pageSource: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

  • After completing field hours in a Colorado school, students can apply for licensure in Colorado through the Colorado Department of Education with the university's recommendation. State-by-state disclosureSource: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • regis university cannot guarantee an individual's attainment of any professional licensure or certification, in any field, in any jurisdiction. State-by-state disclosureSource: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • International students interested in online programs are told Regis cannot guarantee that a program meets the curriculum requirements of their country and should review admissions guidelines to verify eligibility.Source: regis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. regis.edu/academics/majors-and-programs/graduate/education-special-med — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. regis.edu/regulatory/professional-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. regis.edu/regulatory/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Regis University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.