Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Ohio University logo

Ohio University

Curriculum & Instruction Online Master's Degree

Master'sMEdMaster of Education in Curriculum and Instruction

Overview

A 30-credit online Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction for licensed teachers, with asynchronous 15-week courses and a master research project. It typically takes four semesters, with a three-semester accelerated option.

Official program name
Curriculum & Instruction Online Master's Degree
Awarded degree
Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Athens, OHWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
minimum of 30 credit hours
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
typically four semesters; as few as three semesters with the accelerated option (three semesters with the accelerated option)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online MEd for licensed teachers.

Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Thesis

Capstone

  • Core courses include EDTE 6940 Master Research Project
    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an institutionally accredited U.S. college or university or equivalent
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredCurrently valid teaching license (or, in a non-traditional setting, a supervisor's letter and certificates)
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Official transcripts showing a 3.0 GPA
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredBrief statement of qualifications and professional goals
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required1 letters — One letter of recommendation
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or curriculum vitae
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Writing sample
Not requiredA separate writing sample is not required
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 application fee
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — OHIO Online (eCampus) graduate, Ohio residentFrom the university's online tuition table$533per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$15,990 = 30 credits × $533 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state — OHIO Online (eCampus) graduate, out-of-state residentFrom the university's online tuition table$555per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$16,650 = 30 credits × $555 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Program fee, Curriculum and Instruction ME
$24 per creditMandatory
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Technology fee
$9 per creditMandatory
Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide
  • OHIO Online Incentive Scholarship (military and veterans) Tuition discount

    10% of tuition for eligible online undergraduate programs; 15% for eligible online graduate programs

    Eligibility: Current active duty, guardsmen, reservists and veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces; similar incentive scholarships exist for OHIO alumni and employees of partner organizations.

    Source: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Ohio University is approved by the Ohio Department of Higher Education to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA). Official pageSource: ohio.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. ohio.edu/bursar/graduate-tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. ohio.edu/education/teacher-ed/online-master-curriculum-instruction — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. ohio.edu/education/teacher-ed/online-master-curriculum-instruction/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. ohio.edu/education/teacher-ed/online-master-curriculum-instruction/curriculum — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. ohio.edu/online/scholarships/incentive — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  7. ohio.edu/provost/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Ohio University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.