Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University · College of Engineering and College of Education

Engineering Education (online M.S.)

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Engineering Education

Overview

A 30-credit Master of Science in Engineering Education combining 18 credits of engineering or computer science courses with 12 credits of engineering education, plus a practicum. It can be completed online with no on-campus residency and no thesis; the GRE is not required.

Official program name
Engineering Education (online M.S.)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Engineering Education
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Raleigh, NCWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30 credit hours (10 courses) plus a practicum
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
within six years of the first course in the Plan of Graduate Work (Maximum time limit for completing all degree requirements)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online master's degree with a required practicum and no on-campus residency.

Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
No mandatory campus visits
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Practicum Required

    Practicum in teaching, engineering administration or another related activity, selected with the advisor

    Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 18 credits of engineering or computer science courses and 12 credits of engineering education courses
    Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate major in engineering, computer science or another calculus-based degree with three semesters of calculus and two of physics
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants without a US degree or one year of US study; at least 18 on each section.
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Graduate Engineering Online, Engineering Education, residents of North CarolinaFrom the university's online tuition table$585.39per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$17,561.70 = 30 credits × $585.39 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state — Graduate Engineering Online, Engineering Education, nonresidents of North CarolinaFrom the university's online tuition table$1,804.11per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$54,123.30 = 30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

COE Program Enhancement Fee per credit hour
$83.33 per creditMandatory
Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • NC State's online and distance programs are authorized or exempt from authorization in all 50 states, DC and US territories; NC State participates in SARA and offers online education in California through an exemption. Official pageSource: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • International students may take NC State online courses from their home country without following the university's immigration criteria; international students living in the US must meet visa criteria. Online bachelor's admission for international students requires an associate degree or more than 60 college credit hours.Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. online-distance.ncsu.edu/program/engineering-education/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online-distance.ncsu.edu/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. studentservices.ncsu.edu/finances/tuition-and-fees/tuition-and-fee-rates/online-and-distance-educati — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with North Carolina State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.