Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Montana State University Billings logo

Montana State University Billings

Master of Education Reading Option

Master'sMEdMaster of Education (Reading Option)

Overview

A two-year online M.Ed. with a reading option for teachers, reading supervisors and principals, including courses in literacy coaching and rural and multicultural literacy. A background check is required; the GRE is waived with a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Official program name
Master of Education Reading Option
Awarded degree
Master of Education (Reading Option)
Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Billings, MTWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
2 years
Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

M.Ed. with online courses, listed in the MSUB Online master's degrees.

Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
Not requiredNo admission essay
Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not requiredNo letters of reference
Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredAll graduate and undergraduate transcripts
Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Background check
RequiredBackground check
Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
WaivedWaived if GPA is 3.0 or higher.
Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Graduate online only, residentFrom the university's online tuition table$302.15per credit · 2026-2027Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state — Graduate online only, nonresidentFrom the university's online tuition table$599.32per credit · 2026-2027Source: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • MSU Billings is authorized to provide distance education outside Montana through NC-SARA membership; students must notify the Registrar if they change physical location. Official pageSource: msubillings.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. msubillings.edu/boffice/tuition/MSUB_Graduate_Online_only_SU26-SU27-1.htm — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. msubillings.edu/grad/program-reading/index.htm — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. msubillings.edu/provost/state-authorization.htm — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Montana State University Billings. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.