Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Florida International University logo

Florida International University

M.S. in Special Education: Autism Endorsement

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Special Education

Overview

A 36-credit online Master of Science in Special Education with an Autism Endorsement specialization, completed in one year of six eight-week terms. Applicants need access to K-12 students or teachers for an action research project.

Official program name
M.S. in Special Education: Autism Endorsement
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Special Education
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Miami, FLWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Autism Endorsement
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
36 credit hours (12 courses)
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
one year, six accelerated eight-week terms
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online MS in Special Education with an autism endorsement specialization.

Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Required

    Access to K-12 students or K-12 teachers in an academic setting for the Action Research Project throughout the program

    Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredFour-year U.S. bachelor's degree or equivalent from an accredited institution
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher for the last 60 hours of upper-division coursework; conditional admission may be considered
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
RequiredApplicants with a non-Education degree must demonstrate teaching experience
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose of at least 500 words
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$30 — Online master's programs application ($30)
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 80For applicants whose bachelor's degree is from a country whose official language is not English; 80 internet-based or 550 paper-based.
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5Alternative to TOEFL for applicants whose bachelor's degree is from a non-English-speaking country.
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Optional — minimum 110Graduate programs can use the Duolingo English Test.
Source: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$18,334.88entire programSource: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • FIU participates in NC-SARA through the SREB compact and states it is individually approved to offer online programs in California. Official pageSource: fiuonline.fiu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. fiuonline.fiu.edu/about-us/state-authorizations-and-partnerships.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. fiuonline.fiu.edu/programs/online-graduate-degrees/master-of-science-in-special-education.php — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. fiu.edu/academics/professional-licensure/index.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Florida International University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.