Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
East Carolina University logo

East Carolina University

Master of Arts in Education - Adult Education

Master'sMAEdMaster of Arts in Education

Overview

An online Master of Arts in Education in adult education for college instruction, workplace training and community education, with optional focus areas in human resource development, community college instruction and adult literacy. Students may study full- or part-time.

Official program name
Master of Arts in Education - Adult Education
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Education
Source: education.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Greenville, NCWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Human Resource Development; Community College Instruction; Adult Literacy (optional focus areas)
Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
most part-time students complete in about two and a half years (part-time study)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: education.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree offered online.

Source: education.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Optional practical placement
Source: education.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: education.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

  • Human Resource Development; Community College Instruction; Adult Literacy (optional focus areas)
    Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree
Source: online.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of intent
Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
RequiredList of references
Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    August 1 (final) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 15 (final) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: gradschool.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Distance Education Graduate ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$277.06per credit · Fall 2026Source: financialservices.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state — Distance Education Graduate Non-ResidentFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,044.06per credit · Fall 2026Source: financialservices.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • ECU participates in NC-SARA; admission of applicants outside North Carolina depends on ECU's ability to secure authorization from the applicant's state where required. Official pageSource: online.ecu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. education.ecu.edu/adult-education-masters-degree/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. financialservices.ecu.edu/distance-education-tuition-fees-for-fall-2026-grad-non-res/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. financialservices.ecu.edu/distance-education-tuition-fees-for-fall-2026-grad-res/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. gradschool.ecu.edu/find-your-program/?id=58 — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. online.ecu.edu/online-programs/online-graduate-degrees/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. online.ecu.edu/wp-content/pv-uploads/sites/146/2018/04/StateAuthorization.pdf — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  7. onlineprograms.ecu.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  8. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with East Carolina University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.